Mushrooms and casseroles

mushroom sketches

Monday was exciting. Lilla Rogers “Make art that sells” course began and I was very curious about the lessons, my classmates, the assignments we are getting every week….. And I was anxious. Will I understand everything? English isn´t my mother language (you have noticed this before, I´m sure). Will I be able to finish the assignments in time? Will the course be worth its money?
Today the first week’s lessons are over and I´m happy. Everything went fine and I am already looking forward to next week’s lessons.
Lilla speaks a great English, so I have no problems to understand her. Every day we get interesting tutorials about the treated markets with a lot of examples and they everything is issued in comprehensive pieces, so we are not overwhelmed. My classmates (we are a lot, over 450 artists) are all very, very friendly and supportive.  And I´m almost done with this week´s assingment.

This week was all about the bolt fabric market. The theme given for the assignment: design a pattern for this market with mushrooms, casseroles, vegetables, kitchen items (the pattern didn´t have to show the repeat! Just the different items). I had a lot of fun with the mushrooms. I was born in Prague/ Czech Republic and the Czech are the Nr.1 nation in collecting mushrooms , 40.000 tons of mushrooms every year. Then I had a bit, but just a bit, of hard time with the casseroles. The work was quite intensive, still I enjoyed it a lot.

At the top, you see some of my mushroom sketches (I did a lot more, this is just a very small selection) and below you can have a look at the final result.

Do you like it? I hope so.
mushroom vorlage version 2

Der Montag war sehr aufregend, denn diese Woche began Lilla Rogers Kurs “Make art that sells“. Ich war sehr neugierig auf den Kurs, meine “Mitschüler”, die Aufgaben, die wir bekommen würden. Und ich war ängstlich. Würde ich Lilla verstehen? Immerhin bin ich keine Muttersprachlerin. Werde ich rechtzeitig meine “Hausaufgaben” fertig bekommen? Wird der Kurs überhaupt das viele Geld wert sein?
Heute ist die erste Woche zu Ende gegangen und ich bin zufrieden und freue mich auf die nächste Kurseinheit. Lilla spricht ein schönes, klares Englich, das man mühelos versteht. Jeden Tag bekommen wir verschiedene Informationen über den jeweiligen Markt und alles ist so aufbereitet, das man gut folgen kann und nicht überwältigt wird. Die anderen Kursteilnehmer (über 450 Künstler) sind sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Und ich bin mit meiner ersten Aufgabe so gut wie fertig.

Diese Woche drehte sich alles um die Stoffindustrie. Das Thema der Aufgabe: Entwurf für einen Stoff; mit Pilzen, Auflaufformen, Gemüse, Küchengeräten etc. (der Entwurf mußte keinen Rapport zeigen, nur die verschiedenen Symbole!). Ich hatte viel Spaß mit den Pilzen. Ich wurde in Prag geboren und da die Tschechen D I E Pilzsammlernation sind (40.000 Tonnen gesammelte Pilze pro Jahr), war das genau mein Thema. Die Aufflaufformen weniger, obwohl ich gerne und oft koche. Ich habe intensiv gearbeitet und es hat viel Spaß gemacht.

Oben seht Ihr ein paar von meinen ersten Pilzskizzen (es gibt sehr viel mehr) und unten mein fertiges Design.

Gefällt es Euch? Ich hoffe es.

Leave a comment