Global talent search and my “little terrarium”

GTS_Ranking_Semifinalist2014_300x200

Last week I promised to show you my entry for the first assignment of the Global talent search run by Lilla Rogers Studio today. I was thinking about preparing two blog posts, one in case I don´t make it to the 2th round and a second one should I become a semifinalist. But what would be the point as I couldn´t tell how I would feel? So I didn´t prepare anything. I will not tell you that I was cool. I wasn´t at all. I was nervous, nervous as can be and last night, before the semifinalists were announced, I almost didn´t sleep. While scrolling through the list of the semifinalists’ artwork this morning I kept saying “I didn´t make it, I didn´t.” And then I saw the lavender top of my “Little terrarium” and fell  into my Mum´s arms who was sitting next to me. The girls started applauding and screaming: “Mummy made it, Mummy made it!” And I started crying because I was both so happy, because I will be working on the second assignment soon and unhappy because some dear friends are not joining me into the second round.

999 artists from 50 countries took part in the GTS 2014 and they did an amazing job. This year there is a gallery with all the beautiful entries, so you don´t have to search the internet. You can find all 50 entries who made it into the semifinals on Lilla´s blog. And Lilla did a lovely video about the judging process, you might enjoy watching it.

I would like to thank everybody for all the lovely congratulations I got, they mean the world to me. I would like to wish “good luck” to all semifinalists for the next assignment. And last but not least a little message  to some of the 949 artists who might feel discouraged and dissapointed today: You ALL can be very proud of the work you did. You all gave your best, worked hard, put your heart into the art you created. This is a good reason to be proud.

And here is my interpretation of the “Little terrarium”. I intended to create a warm, feminine piece with a positive message that relates as well to the the terrarium theme as to real life. I hope you like it.

GTS submission "Little terrarium" by Petra Haemmerleinova©

If you are not familiar with the futher process of GTS, here is a short summary: Today all 50 semifinalists got the second briefing and have 9 days to work on it. On Monday, the 8th September the gallery with all semifinal submissions will be online til Friday, the 12th September on Lilla Rogers´ blog and you will get the opportunity to vote for your favorite pieces. The artist with the most votes will become the “People´s Choise Finalist”. A panel of proffesional creative judges together with Lilla Rogers´ Studio will choose the other five finalists. The six finalists will then work on the third and last assignment. The winner of the final round is going to win a two years representation by Lilla Rogers Studio and an amount of licensing deals with great companies, some one-to one consultations with experts from the creative world and a trip to Europe. Wow, isn´t it? So stay tuned.

*

Und hier eine Entschuldigung an alle meine deutschen Leser: Im Moment schaffe ich es einfach nicht, zweisprachig zu bloggen. Das tut mir leid, ist aber zeitlich nicht zu ändern. Ich hoffe, Ihr schaut trotzdem immer wieder vorbei und ich gelobe im Gegenzug den Willen zur Besserung.

5 thoughts on “Global talent search and my “little terrarium”

  1. Petro, tak to mooc gratuluju. Já jsem tvojí práci měla vždycky moc ráda a vím, že jsi moc
    šikovná. Budu držet palce dál. Je vidět , že dobrá práce se oceňuje. Gratuluju.

  2. Peto, neumim anglicky,ale nejak jsem z toho vylustil, ze jsi postoupila do semifinale z 999 ucastniku a 50 zemi mezi nejlepsich 50 semifinalistu. Je to tak ???

    Tak to moc a moc gratuluji !!!!

    pa Milos

Leave a Reply

