Little terrarium (and the Global talent search)

watercolours

Are you also dying see the art people from all over the world created for the first assignment of the Global talent search run by Lilla Rogers Studio? I bet you are and so am I. But this year all participants were asked to show the artwork they submitted first when public gallery is open and the 50 semifinalists are announced.  I decided to follow this advice so you will have to wait til 26th of August if you are curious of what I came up with.

But at least I can share the subject matters. Lilla´s briefing asks to create a wall art with a little terrarium, including traditional media was recommended. Where I come from, terrarium is a glass box where scary animals live. Such as snakes, tarantulas, chameleons, turtles. But Lilla´s little terrarium is full of georgeous little plants like orchids, succulents, fern. I love to draw flowers and all natural so this was a pleasure to see on the mood images. But… The only thing I was really afraid of waiting for the brief was   W A L L    A R T.  I could have guessed it, as the last two assignments in Bootcamp were wall art. But still….. I feel uncomfortable with wall art.

As I can´t share the finished piece yet, nor the work in progress, I would love to share the non visual part of it.

1.Day

11.00 a.m.  Oh God. It´s wall art. Panicking.

12.00 a.m. Spending about one hour on research.

13.00 p.m. Thinking of Lilla´s advice to start with a mini. Mini is always good. Relieves the pressure. Spent the rest of the time drawing little flowers, plants and everythings coming to my mind when thinking of little pretty terrariums.

20.00 pm. Thinking a lot about a concept. Sketching several ideas. Finding that obvious is best sometimes.

Going to bed late, but happy with the doodles.

2.Day

9.00 a.m. Taking out my watercolours and acrylics to create the traditional part.

11.00 am. Very happy about the new green watercolour shade I bought recently. Surprisingly vibrant.

15.00 p.m. Start scanning and working in PS, putting pieces together.

19.00 p.m. Dinner time: Almost crying as I will never ever be able to succeed with a wall art piece. Driving my family crazy talking just about GTS.

20.00 p.m. Back to my computer.

3.Day

1.30 a.m. Done. Overflooded with endophines. Too excited to fall asleep.

10.00 a.m. Still loving what I created. Questioning if it´s possible to finish a GTS submission (a great one) in only two days.

4. Day – 6.Day

Looking at my little terrarium and asking myself if the quality of an artwork relates to the hours spent on creating it. (Not neccessarily! It might just be the perfect fit, the briefing and you.). Shifting and tweaking leafs and flowers just to make sure. Adding little details here and there.

7.Day

Submitting. And believe it or not, I enjoyed myself a lot. Wall art, I´m coming.

PS:

Dear artists,

Before GTS started this year I was thinking a lot about it and how to deal with the fact of not making it into the semifinal. I felt very sad and dissapointed last year so wanted to be more “prepared”. The question is, does the fact if you made it or not to the 50 semifinalists change anything about the quality of your art and the love you put into it while creating it? Of course not. It still remains the same. It just says that there were other artists who created something more suitable to what the judges loved/needed/ were looking for. So, please, feel proud about your submission whatever the news will be for you on the 26th. I will.

Warmly yours, Petra

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Little terrarium (and the Global talent search)

  1. can’t wait to see your piece🙂 I’m envious of your time, spent full 6 days doing mine. Definitely agree with your final conclusion – as with all contests, I firmly believe winning a contest has far less to do with the quality of the art and far more with hitting the specific mood/ feeling/ trend the competition organizers were looking for at that time. It’s like falling in love – the fact someone doesn’t fall in love with you doesn’t mean you’re not an amazing person – just that the two of you didn’t have that certain magic. Good luck though!!!!

  2. I’m dying to see your submitted artwork, I hope to see it in this blog post, but well, I must be patient then. But I bet it’s so pretty as usual.

    By the way, I agree with your last paragraph. Well said, Petra, well said🙂

    Good luck for the GTS!

    • Thanks, Dewi, for stopping by and leaving such a sweet comment.
      I´m leaving for a short vacation in the Alpes but I promis to be back in time to show my “Little terrarium” on the 26th of August, when Lilla´s gallery goes public. And no matter if I made it or not I will cry a bit with all my artists friends who might not be in the semifinal.

      Good luck to you, Dewi!!!

Leave a Reply

